Fifeshire (Arrow) Rock
- Landmarks & Hotspots
The iconic Fifeshire Rock lay just off Tahunanui Beach between Rocks Road and Haulashore Island.
Sheltered by the island and the 13km long Boulder Bank, the water surrounding the rock is often very calm. At all times of the year, you’ll spot curious paddleboarders and kayakers circling this natural landmark and getting a glimpse of it up close.
This ‘rockstar’ was originally named Arrow Rock (or Urenui to local Māori), but was nicknamed Fifeshire Rock after the maiden voyage of The Fifeshire wrecked upon the landmark in 1842, and the nickname stuck. The Fifeshire was one of the first immigrant ships to arrive in Nelson Tasman and was just leaving to head for China when the wind carried her onto Arrow Rock, damaging her beyond repair. Pieces of the vessel were then sold off to be used for firewood, furniture and building smaller ships.
In 2013, the Nelson City Council restored the landmark with its former name of Arrow Rock on a public information panel.
Photo credits: (1) Tamzin Henderson, (2) Moana Paddle Nelson.